HTML First Steps


Fine..

thecodemonkey's Blog

I’ve gone through the initial steps of coding html a couple times, (full disclosure, I’ve read the first few chapters of one book, and codecademy.com) and everything looks the same. It breaks down like this:

Lesson 1. Start your webpage code with <!DOCTYPE html> Now it’s explained that this tells the web browser that the file it’s reading is instructions for a website, but I don’t really get why there’s an exclamation point or why DOCTYPE is in all caps. Is this common to a lot of other compilers? I don’t have to use <!DOCTYPE something> when I’m writing a python program, do I?

One of the first things I noticed getting into html was the profuse use of <>. It’s everywhere. I don’t see anything like that in any other programming language, and as far as I can tell it just means that you’re putting all your instructions between one < and…

View original post 325 more words

Leave a Reply

